Rule of Reciprocity

WELCOME TO THE HALFRICAN


What’s up, what’s happening, fam? Recently, I have been struggling with something that I always try to overlook. There is an unspoken rule to the game of life, and it’s called the rule of reciprocity. For those of you who don’t know what that means, it’s basicbe-the-goodally when someone is nice to you, or shows positive actions toward you, and you should then respond with positive and nice feedback and actions.

Being from the South, it seems like everyone always tries their best with this rule, but unfortunately, some people just cannot understand and/or grasp the meaning of it.

I struggle with this, because I know not everyone is always going to cooperate with this unwritten rule. I wake up every morning trying to always remember to believe there is good left in the world. Most days everything is fine, and the world doesn’t seem so bad. The other few days destroy my faith in humanity. It’s hard to realize that no matter how hard you try, some people will never be there for you, even though you are always there for them.

I think people get in such a routine with their family, friends, co-workers, etc., they forget to appreciate the little things and everything other people do for them. It’s sad that everyone’s number one goal in today’s time is to look out and take care of themselves first, and everyone else comes second. I refuse to behave that way. As one of my favorite TV host says, “Be kind to one another.”

Never lose sight of the good and magic in the world and in you. That’s important.

-The Halfrican

One thought on “Rule of Reciprocity

  1. As the song goes, “Don’t Stop Believin'”! I struggle with this one, too. It saddens me when kindness is not repaid in kind. I’ve learned to focus my efforts on those who appreciate it. Keep shining your light, and the right people will be there! Best, Karen 🙂

Leave a Reply

